Day 6 of road trip/vacation food

This morning we visited Cracker Barrel.  It was breakfast, nothing exciting.  My parents chose today’s breakfast stop.  I love them.  (The struggle is real, y’all.)

Moving on to lunch, I again have to thank Yelpers for an outstanding choice.  We visited Our Daily Bread Delicatessen in Boone, NC.

yelp

I really enjoyed this place.  Check out this note from their menu…

antibiotic and hormone free

Love.

Before we ordered, you can see that we are truly a tech family.  My dad was looking at me like I was crazy, but we were ALL on our phones and the tot was playing on her iPad.  You’re welcome Apple.

tech fam

As you can see in the pic, the tot has a Ziplog bag of goldfish crackers and is drinking a strawberry smoothie (from another shop located nearby).  This was her choice for lunch today.  Hmmm…maybe she’s tired of chicken strips.

I ordered an awesome sandwich…the roast beef and bleu.

roast beef and bleu

Thinly sliced roast beef, gorgonzola cheese, organic spring greens, and roasted red pepper aioli on grilled wheat toast.  A seriously good sandwich, with a great little veggie pasta salad on the side.

My mom ordered a veggie melt on toast with some fruit.

veggie

My dad ordered a plain turkey sandwich on wheat with chips.

turkey

This is a cute little place located near the Mast General Store in Boone.  I definitely recommend you stop in and then browse Mast for some candies and treats to take road-tripping.  You can find out more about Our Daily Bread Delicatessen on their website at http://ourdailybreadboonenc.com/ and

For dinner, we found The Peddler Steak House in Boone, via Yelp.

yelp

The ambience was much like an old Steak & Ale, and every meal came with an unlimited salad bar.

Mom chose to just have the salad bar this evening.  This was my plate of salad…

salad bar

they had a HUGE wedge of bleu cheese available on the salad bar.  I wish I had gotten a picture!

My entrée was a beef tenderloin kabob with a plain baked potato.

steak tips

My dad ordered a steak with steak fries (and because I forgot to write it down, I don’t remember what cut of meat he got, sorry).

steak

They bring a tray around before you order with all of their cuts of meat.  They also serve a variety of seafood and chicken.  You can find out more about The Peddler Steak Steak House on their website at http://www.peddlerofboone.com/.

More to come soon!

Leave a Reply

